Day 6 : Le Cap d’Agde to Sete

The new town has grown on me. There’s a cute little beach and the port is lovely.

There was also a proper French market in the morning.

image

image

I dodged the expensive hotel breakfast and went to the depot de pain and got myself a pain au chocolat and an orange juice then sat on the harbour and watched the world go by.

My destination today was Sete, after trying to find my way out and failing I went to l’office de tourisme and they gave me an excellent route back up to the canal on cycle paths all the way and then through a nature reserve.

After I got back onto my map the canal kind of finishes, and there’s a lake. At the other end of the lake the the canal continues again. There’s a section I’ve missed which I’ll do tomorrow when I return to Agde old town.

The cycle path goes right next to the beach for a long way, it’s flat and sunny… life felt amazing.

image

image

Eventually I got to Sete. I really like it here. It’s an old town. A perfect balance between a working town and a touristy place. I don’t know if it’s because I’m slightly out of season now but there only seem to be French people here. Lots of them on holiday. I don’t like it when a place gets overrun with non nationals.

image

The hotel is the best yet and considering I’m on the coast now, reasonably priced. Less then £50. Thanks again to Relax Rentals for doing the leg work.

I had a nice walk around the town, it’s really hot here. I’m always fascinated by the amount of pharmacies in Europe. They must get ill a lot, or perhaps they’re all hypochondriacs. I thought they all had a great diet and the French paradox. Anyway the flashy pharmacie signs said it was 29, 34 on another and 39 degrees on another. They can’t be very accurate. Either way it felt a lovely temperature to do some sight seeing without being cooked.

Right I’m off for some more seafood. I might have moules frites for lunch tomorrow. Yum.

4 thoughts on “Day 6 : Le Cap d’Agde to Sete

  1. The French are complete hypochondriacs. They are always having a crise (crisis) in some part of the body such as crise de foie=liver, indigestion to you and me!
    Glad you are enjoying the trip now, weather looks great. Can I join you for the moules?
    M x

  2. Bro, a couple of things. Europeans are notorious for lying on those temperature signs to impress the tourists. The mayors are the usual suspects.
    Secondly, what IS the deal with farmacias? It’s the same in central and south America. I’ve heard a theory they’re equivalent to pubs ie places for people with nowhere else to go… Of course the real answer is that self medication is rife in Latin culture. When you don’t need a prescription, you can cut the Dr out of the loop! You should see what you can buy over the counter in Colombia…

  3. The reason there are so many pharmacies is that the pharmacists have a very good union. supermarkets are not allowed to sell drugs in France!

Leave a comment